Passionate Defenders of Justice To Help You Pursue Truth & Second Chances

DWI Attorneys in New Jersey

Protecting Your Rights, Freedom & Driving Privileges

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is one of the most serious traffic offenses one can be charged with. A conviction for a DWI will remain permanently on a driving record, as a DWI cannot be expunged.

In New Jersey, a person can be charged with driving while intoxicated when they operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of:

  • A narcotic
  • A hallucinogenic drug
  • Intoxicating liquor

If you've been charged for DWI, act quickly by contacting Roberts & Teeter, LLC today for your free consultation.

Did You Know?

  • The state of New Jersey does not plea bargain in DWI cases, which is why DWI matters need to be brought to trial.
  • A DWI charge can be dismissed by the prosecutor if they believe there is a lack of evidence to prove their case.
  • A DWI conviction is classified as a motor vehicle violation, not a crime. This is why a DWI conviction cannot be expunged.
  • In some cases, the state may prove their case solely on a police officer’s observations and without a blood alcohol level.
  • Driving in New Jersey is a privilege, not a right.
  • If a driver under the age of 21 has a blood alcohol level of 0.01% or more, they will be charged with driving while intoxicated.

N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 - Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey

A person will be deemed intoxicated if they operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or more. A person can also be charged by permitting another individual, who is under the influence of drugs or alcohol, to operate an automobile owned by them or in their custody.

Under a new bill enacted by Governor Phil Murphy, S824, penalties for first time DWI offenses are now significantly reduced. This is in part due to the strict constraints the previous penalties had on first time offenders such as not being able to continue employment and/or provide for their families.

Specifically, the addition of ignition interlock devices into a convicted individuals vehicle for a specific amount of time depending on the BAC levels has allowed the State of New Jersey to reduce license suspension times by a significant amount. Please see below.

The penalties one can face when convicted of DWI are as follows:

  • First DWI (BAC is 0.08% or higher but less than 0.10%) - $250-$400 fines, detainment for 12-48 hours, up to 30 days in jail, installation of an ignition interlock device up to 6 months, and a 30 day license suspension (reduced from 3 months under new law)
  • First DWI (BAC is 0.10% or higher, or under the influence of drugs) - $300-$500 fines, detainment for 12-48 hours, up to 30 days in jail, installation of an ignition interlock device up to 12 months, and 45 day license suspension (reduced from up 1 year under new law)
  • First DWI (BAC is higher than .15%) - installation of an ignition interlock device up to 18 months, and a 90 day license suspension
  • Second DWI (BAC is 0.08% or higher, or under the influence of drugs) - $500-$1,000 fines, detainment for 12-48 hours, 30 days of community service, up to 90 days in jail, 2-year license suspension, and an ignition interlock device
  • Third DWI (BAC is 0.08% or higher, or under the influence of drugs) - $1,000 fine, detainment for 12-48 hours, 30 days of community service, no less than 180 days in jail, 10-year license suspension, and an ignition interlock device

* It is also important to understand that surcharges and Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fees are not included in the list above. If convicted, on top of the penalties listed above, there are numerous other fees associated with the conviction.

* If the driver is within 1,000 ft. of school property, or driving through a school crossing, the penalties will be increased. Certain criminal charges may be brought if a minor is a passenger in the vehicle.

Refusing to Submit to a Breath Test

In the state of New Jersey, any individual who operates a motor vehicle on any public road or highway is deemed to have given their consent to the taking of breath samples for the purposes of determining the amount of alcohol in their blood. The sample must be taken with proper procedure and made in accordance with the provisions provided by the state of New Jersey. The sample shall be taken upon the request of a police officer who has reasonable grounds to believe the driver was driving while intoxicated.

The state of New Jersey keeps a record of the test, including the date, time, and result. Upon request, a copy of the record shall be given to the person tested. No sample shall be taken forcibly or against physical resistance. If a person refuses to submit, the police shall inform them of the consequences of refusing to submit to the test.

If convicted, a person who refuses a breath test can receive penalties such as:

  • License suspension
  • Fines
  • Referral to an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.

First-time offender fines range from $300 to $500, second-time offender fines range from $500 to $1,000, and third-time offenders will be fined $1,000. This does not include surcharges and IDRC fees that will apply.

In order to be convicted of refusing to submit to a breath test, the following needs to be proved:

  • The arresting law enforcement officer had probable cause to believe that the motor vehicle operator had been driving while intoxicated;
  • Whether the individual was placed under arrest; and
  • The person refused to submit to the test upon request by the officer.

Learn From Our DWI Defense Success

5 / 5 stars
I hired Matt based on the recommendation of a friend to defend me in a DWI case. This was a first for me dealing with court and Matt walked me through what to expect. He was able to get me the best possible outcome through his dedication to my case. Not only is Matt a great lawyer, but he personally seemed to be concerned about my case and making sure I understood everything to expect before and after. I would highly recommend Matt to anyone going through this.

View more reviews here.

Contact our skilled DWI attorneys in New Jersey today by calling (732) 607-5553. Call now and set up a free consultation with Roberts & Teeter.

What Our Clients Have to Say About Us

  • Very thorough and knowledgeable.

    “Glad I found him when searching for an attorney to represent me.”

    Dan P.

  • Highly recommend Matt. Hands down.

    “He fights hard for his clients and is with you every step of the way”

    Jason

  • I was very impressed with my "total experience" with the firm.

    “I must say Matthew Teeter is a phenomenal attorney and I highly recommend the Roberts & Teeter’s law firm for cases similar to mine.”

    Previous Client

  • Matt was an amazing attorney and person.

    “He was very knowledgeable but also personable as well which put me at ease through a very difficult time.”

    Former Client

  • He delivered the results he said he would.

    “I couldn't have been more impressed or satisfied with how things were handled this time around.”

    Previous Client

Spirited Legal Advocates

To Pursue the Best Possible Outcome
  1. Roberts & Teeter, LLC only handles matters and cases associated with criminal defense
  2. Our clients are not handed off to an associate; they work exclusively with the partners of the firm.
  3. The lawyers at Roberts & Teeter, LLC are dedicated to keeping clients informed about their cases
  4. Our team is available to help our clients with certain cases on the weekends
Learn More By Contacting Roberts & Teeter, LLC Now
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.