New Jersey Marijuana Possession Lawyers
Experienced and Aggressive Defense
In February of 2020, the New Jersey Governor signed into law a bill decriminalizing possession of small amounts of marijuana. Additionally, regulated recreational use of the substance was legalized for people 21 years of age and older. At that time, the State's Attorney General issued a directive to dismiss pending marijuana-related charges. Although possession of the substance in many cases is not a crime, instances still exist in which a person can face criminal penalties for having it on their person – when they are in control of more than 6 ounces. Thus, even though new laws have decriminalized marijuana and recreational use is legal for adults, it's still possible you could be charged with an offense for having it.
If you are facing criminal charges for marijuana possession, turn to Roberts & Teeter, LLC for the effective defense you need. We provide personalized representation, and our practice is focused exclusively on criminal defense matters. That means when you turn to us, you will have a loyal advocate on your side who knows the law and will be fighting to protect your rights and best interests.
To learn more about how our New Jersey marijuana possession attorneys can provide the legal representation you need, call us at (732) 607-5553 or contact us online today. Your initial consultation is free.
What Are New Jersey's Laws on Marijuana Possession?
In many cases, possession of marijuana is not a crime. That means if a person is caught with small amounts of the substance, they may not face criminal penalties. However, they can be hit with a civil penalty, which is only a small fine. When a person has larger quantities of marijuana, they can face a hefty criminal fine.
Below are the potential civil and criminal penalties for marijuana possession:
More than 6 ounces:
- Crime of the fourth degree
- Up to $25,000 in fines
- 100 hours or more of community service (when the offense occurs on school property or a school bus)
6 ounces or less:
- Not a crime
- Civil penalty of $50
For your criminal marijuana possession charge, our New Jersey lawyers are here to aggressively defend you. We know what procedures law enforcement officials must follow when investigating and arresting individuals for alleged offenses. We also know the elements the State must prove to land a conviction. That is why our marijuana possession attorneys in New Jersey will thoroughly review your case to determine if any legal errors occurred that violated your rights and to uncover evidence that may cast doubt on the prosecution's arguments.
What Are the Laws for Underage Marijuana Possession?
If a person is under 21 years of age and they possess or consume marijuana, they may not face criminal penalties, but they could be subject to a civil fine.
The potential civil penalties for underage marijuana possession or consumption are as follows:
Persons between 18 and 20 years of age:
- Civil penalty of $50
- Persons under 18 years of age:
- Written warning (which is also sent to the person's parent or guardian)
- Written warning indicating a second violation (which is also sent to the person's parent or guardian)
- Information about accessing counseling, tutoring, mentoring services, or other community initiatives
Third or subsequent violation:
- Civil Penalty of up to $50
- Community Service instead of the financial assessment
- Write-up indicating a third or subsequent violation
- Referral to counseling, tutoring, mentoring, faith-based, and other social services
Schedule a Free Consultation with Roberts & Teeter, LLC
A drug crime conviction can have substantial impacts on your life. If you're facing charges, discuss your case with our New Jersey marijuana possession lawyers. We can determine a course of action to work toward a favorable outcome on your behalf.
Get started on your case by contacting us at (732) 607-5553 today.
2nd Driving While Intoxicated Received No Loss of License
4th Shoplifting Offense Case Dismissed
Aggravated Assault Case Dismissed
Aggravated Assault & Possession of a Weapon Case Dismissed
Driving While Intoxicated DWI Charge Dismissed
Endangering the Welfare of a Child Charge Dismissed After Intervention Program
Official Misconduct Case Dismissed
Possession of CDS, Intent to Distribute Case Dismissed
Possession of Marijuana & Possession of Drug Paraphernalia Case Dismissed
Simple Assault – Domestic Violence Case Dismissed